December 2013  Vol. 31, No. 4

The JRSA Forum is supported by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics. JRSA is a national nonprofit organization. For membership or other information, call (202) 842-9330, e-mail, or visit our Web site:

Karen F. Maline, Editor
Nancy Michel, Managing Editor


Stephen Haas, President
Janeena J. Wing, Vice President
Lisa Shoaf, Secretary/ Treasurer
Danette Buskovick, Delegate
Mark Myrent Delegate
Roger Przybylski, Appointed Delegate
Phillip Stevenson, Past President

Joan C. Weiss, Executive Director

Shawn Flower, Research Associate
Karen F. Maline, Director of Member Services
Nancy Michel, Director of Publications
Stan Orchowsky, Research Director
Jason Trask, Program Associate

West Virginia SAC Wins 2013 SAC Website Award

In 1997, JRSA established the SAC Website Award to recognize exemplary site design, functionality, and content. Not all SACs had websites then, and the award was meant to both encourage site creation and to provide an example of what a well-designed site could accomplish. Today, all SACs have websites, and the annual award is based on four criteria: 1) content, 2) technical quality, 3) aesthetics, and 4) innovation and creativity. The 2013 Website Award was presented to the West Virginia Statistical Analysis Center during JRSA's Annual Business Meeting webinar on October 9.

Members of JRSA's SAC Website and Innovation Awards Committee are charged with selecting the winning website. In the first round of judging, each member was randomly assigned a list of sites to visit and instructed to choose the top two sites for a second round of judging. Members were not assigned their own site, and winning sites from the last three years were excluded. In the second round SAC directors of the finalist sites were invited to submit supplemental information on their site to help the judges understand its features. In this round all sites were visited by all committee members, except that committee members did not judge their own site if it was among the finalists. A winner was declared based on the highest number of points tallied across the four criteria.

One committee member commented that the site "is well laid out, and has innovative interaction that is seamless for the user." Another noted its "impressive scope and attention to detail. There is creative use of West Virginia scenes in headers, and interactive data and maps are convenient tools."

IL - SAC Innovation Award
West Virginia SAC Website Award winners
Stephen Haas and Monika Sterling.