JRSA - State analysts turning data into policy Spacer Contact Us Sitemap

search spacer
banner spacer
Home SACs ISAR Publications Resources Projects Membership SAC Login
spacing banner


Douglas Yearwood National Publication Award

The Douglas Yearwood National Publication Award recognizes outstanding efforts by Statistical Analysis Centers to apply empirical analysis to criminal justice policy-making in the states. The National Publication Award was established in 1986 and was renamed the following year in memory of Phillip Hoke, the first Louisiana SAC director and one of the founders of JRSA. The award was renamed this year in memory of longtime North Carolina SAC Director, and former JRSA President, Douglas Yearwood.

The award is given in two categories related to type of publication: Statistical/Management and Research/Policy Analysis. Two awards are given within each of those categories--one for small SACs, those with fewer than five full-time staff; and one for large SACs.

Reports in this category present statistical data that identify and describe one or more justice-related issues. This type of report usually includes tables and graphs, with some text that explains and summarizes the data depicted.

2013 Award

West Virginia Statistical Analysis Center
Improving State Capacity for Crime Reporting: An Exploratory Analysis of Data Quality and Imputation Methods Using NIBRS Data
Christina R. LaValle, Stephen M. Haas, Erica Turley, James J. Nolan
(Large SAC)

Vermont Statistical Analysis Center
An Analysis of Domestic Violence and Arrest Patterns in Vermont Using NIBRS Data
Robin Weber
(Small SAC)

Research/Policy Analysis
Reports in this category pose one or more specific research or evaluation questions and typically employ a specific research design to address the issues raised. They usually involve the collection and analysis of data (either quantitative or qualitative), summarize findings, and offer conclusions and recommendations.

2013 Award

Colorado Statistical Analysis Center
Analysis of Colorado State Board of Parole Decisions: FY 2012
Kevin Ford
(Large SAC)

Idaho Statistical Analysis Center
Idaho State Police Performance Measurement: Plan for Redefining Success
Janeena Wing, edited by Misty Kifer and Kara Thompson
(Small SAC)

Past National Publication Award winners

JRSA Website and SAC Innovation Awards
BJS Special Award for State Justice Statistics Achievement

© 1998-2014 , Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA). All rights reserved.

720 7th Street NW, Third Floor, Washington, DC 20001
phone: (202) 842-9330
fax: (202) 448-1723

email:  For technical issues about the website, contact webmaster@jrsa.org
email:  For general information, contact cjinfo@jrsa.org

Notice of Federal Funding and Federal Disclaimer

Home | SACs | ISAR | Publications | Resources | Projects | Events | Contact Us | Site Map |